Therapy With Four Legs and Pointy Ears

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” – James 1:17

I can’t believe I didn’t think of this before…..

I am such an animal lover. Bella is my 3rd German Shepherd. She became available to me about 3 weeks after my divorce was final and was also a few days before Christmas. That year, Christmas 2017, was not a good one. I was newly divorced and had no desire to participate in any holidays. I did though. I love my family and went to our annual Christmas eve party. I celebrated the fact that my Savior, Jesus Christ, was born and came to save the world. But inside I was grieving and in pain. It was during that time that a friend called me and told me about a German Shepherd that had just been dropped off at the Humane Society in my hometown. I was planning on getting a dog when I would buy a house and get settled in, but that had not happened yet. But I read about Bella and she was adorable. She had one floppy ear which was just cute on her. I went to meet her and filled out the paper work. I made arrangements to keep her where I was staying until I got my own place. It was love at first site. She leaned into me when I stood beside her. I took pictures of Bella and posted her progress on the Humane Society Facebook page. A woman who owned Bella in the past contacted me and told me about her breeders scammed her into taking her back. She had not been treated good and was over-bred. I didn’t know if this woman was telling the truth, but thanked her for the information. Bella was timid in certain situations and was clingy and needy. I was thankful that I was able to rescue this loving, sweet Shepherd into my care. But the truth is, she rescued me!!

It’s awesome how God works!!! I believe without a doubt God put her in my life. She loves me and I love her. She is protective, loyal and a wonderful companion. She is one of God’s creations. Dogs are used in so many ways from police, military, emotional support, PTSD, they sniff out cancer, they alert people who are about to have a seizure, they lead the blind, they comfort college kids right before finals week. Now….how can you not believe that a loving God was behind this??

In some of my earlier blog posts, I mentioned that I needed something to do, somewhere to serve. I believe that helping others is a way of healing. God has put this passion in my heart. Since the beginning of the year, I have been searching for some way to minister to people and to help them. Last year I was a camp counselor and it was quite rewarding. I gave my testimony to the kids and was able to counsel some of them one on one. So I wanted to get involved in something. I struggled with this. I searched and I could not find anything. I prayed for God to lead me. I felt He was telling me that I needed to focus on Him and not the calling. He was right, of course. I need to constantly deepen my trust in Him and our relationship. I still work on that. But one day, while in therapy, I was telling her about this situation. I wanted to serve. She knows my story and states, “why don’t you team up with your dog and register her as a therapy dog?” You can HELP OTHERS! Dogs and cats are used in therapy situations. She told me stories and case studies of animals helping people. They calm your anxiety and lift your depression.

YES!! This was what I had been looking for. I researched it and got her registered. She has not had any training, but she has been therapy for me. Just her presence can be comforting to others. We have only had one mission so far and it was a learning experience. The possibilities are endless.

I am so glad that God is opening doors for me!! He told me 2 years ago when I was down in my darkest valley that He had a plan for me. He is showing me just how faithful He is.

Thank you Lord for your blessings on me!!!

Leave a comment